RichardSwearinger

Is 4:4:4 color really amazing and better?

Do I need to start saving up to buy equipment so I can shoot in 4:4:4 color? Will it make my footage even more fantastic and nuanced?  Or are current compression and processing so good that it doesn't make much of a difference anymore? 

I have zero experience with anything higher than 4:2:2 but I notice that at the high end 4:4:4 12-bit color is always touted as an important step up.  

The cameras that feature it, like the high-end Sonys, have bitrates of 800mbps so maybe it's not a feature that fits into a typical client workflow, but is it useful for personal or very high end work? 

I have only used in on my C300 MKII which has 12bot 4:4:4 in 2K and HD.  Usually, I only ever rely on it for green screen work but there is a slight visual increase. Certain colors pop a little more in some circumstances to me. But I'm in no way some great image technician that can quantify its advantages. I just noticed that greens and some shades or red pop a little more.

• Thanks 1

It's a bit like the difference between say RGB and Adobe RGB (kind of) or JPG vs RAW, as there's more information available. It really depends on whether it's necessary for your work. My preference, whether it comes to video or photography, is to record at the highest possible/practical rates to allow for the best post-processing (you never really know when you're going to need it). It requires more storage space, but that to me is a worthwhile tradeoff. Once information is lost, you never get it back. A graphic example:

https://i.rtings.com/images/chroma-subsampling/subsampling.png

Technically speaking, no Bayer pattern sensor cameras are actually 4:4:4 anyway... 🤷🏼‍♂️

On 9/19/2020 at 8:19 AM, RichardSwearinger said:

Thanks. That's very helpful because a C300 II and a 4:4:4-capable recorder is high on my list of candidates.