Graham Kay

Grading S-Log 3 footage from Sony F5

Hi

I'm new to working with S-Log 2/3 footage and the internet is not being helpful so far.

Can anyone here point me towards some reliable information about where to start - help separate the wheat from the chaff?

xdcam-user.com  looks intimidatingly comprehensive.

(I'm an Adobe user, though more and more tempted by Resolve)

Thanks!

It's difficult to give general advice when I don't have any context to what you are doing or what you're trying to achieve.

Since you're saying you're new to SLOG-2/3 I guess maybe you're new to grading LOG in general? Sure, there are obvious differences between the different LOG-profiles, but color correction and grading is all about color and the result you get. So the starting point often is not that important.

I've worked with my FS7s SLOG3 for five years now and think I've got a good grip on it on how to make it the way I want. 

I usually I just use a REC709 LUT from Sony and use that as a basis for the grade. A lot of the time the client just want a natural grade, so in that case I don't do a hell of a lot of grading.

I find that shooting S-Gamut3.Cine/S-Log3 is the best LOG-profile and color space to shoot if you're doing your own grading. It makes the color space more uniform to REC709 so that when you add contrast or saturation the image responds in a more "natural" way, if you could call it that. 

Alister has some great info at xdcam-user.com. Don't know if he's on this forum, but he's quite active on Facebook in the Sony FS7 and FX9 user groups. 

Thanks, Martin.

You're right - my post was vague.  But your advice is already helpful.

I have used log footage extensively over the past few years (Panasonic v-log, Canon C-log), but not S-log, which seems to have a bit of a reputation for being difficult to deal with.  Is this true?

As for use cases, the most likely are:

• documentary shooting using natural and available light
  • landscape
  • lit interviews