Sign in to follow this  
Scott Karlins

Wirecast - Producing and Broadcasting with Remote Cameras and Computer Screens

My day job is working for an engineering firm, where we do failure analysis. Plane, train and vehicle crashes, explosion scenes, machine accidents and many other crazy things. My job is to bring new leading edge technologies into the company. Over the last 10 years, I have brought 3D laser scanning, a fleet of drones, and several VR and AR applications. My latest task was to quickly deploy a method to host multi-party lab inspections virtually. By quickly, I mean 10 days! From having no gear or kit of any kind, to three of our larger offices fully outfitted, and trained. I said "yes" to this?!?

Normally, our offices will host multi-party lab inspections to look at components and parts to determine how things failed. Due to COVID-19, having 30 people fly in and congregate in one lab or highbay area is not feasible. So, I built out custom PC workstations capable of running Wirecast, to be able to host these inspections remotely over a Zoom, Skype, WebEx or MS Teams video conference call. (see my post on this forum in the 'Building a PC' Topic, under 'Computer Hardware & Accessories'). I will be providing a full list of all the PC components within that topic soon. These workstations needed to be capable of creating a Virtual Camera, and also live stream to an RTMP server if needed. They also needed to be able to save all these sources as ISO recordings at full 1080p30 to local storage.

Here is a screen grab from Wirecast of my typical setup.

Capture-4.thumb.jpg.2f8e27df48bfb37c8e83f221b137d713.jpg